Listen to Live Dispatch
From the Sussex County
Emergency Operations
Dial 9-1-1
Memorial Fire Company
Station 89
359 Bay Ave.
Milford, DE 19963

Phone: 302-422-8888
Fax: 302-422-5944

91st Annual Delaware Volunteer Firefighter’s Association Conference - Dover, Delaware

Thursday, July 19, 2018
Friday, September, 15 2011 Nature: 91st Annual Delaware Volunteer Firefighter’s Association Conference Commencing Thursday, September 14th thru Saturday, September 16th many Delaware volunteer fire companies will be participating in the 91st Annual Delaware Volunteer Firefighter’s Association activities which include various educational and training seminars, continuing education credit programs, county association meetings, state association meetings, memorial services, commercial vendor venues, awards banquet and the 87th Annual Firemen's Parade. This organization is heavily supported and revolves around the following associations: Delaware Volunteer Firefighter’s Association; Each county’s volunteer firefighter’s association; Each county’s volunteer fire company ladies auxiliary association; Delaware State Fire Chief’s Association; Each county’s fire chief’s association; Delaware State Fire Police Police Association; Each county’s fire police association; Delaware State Emergency Medical Services Association; and Each county’s emergency medical services association; The Opening Ceremonies were held on Thursday, September 14th with special recognition to member companies and organizations that support the Delaware Fire Service as well as recognition of volunteers for longevity service, etc. This event includes awarding of educational scholarships to approximately 39 Delaware volunteer firefighters that are pursuing college educational goals and objectives. These events also identify the chosen designee for the annual awards of Fire Police Officer of the Year, Firefighter of the year, EMS Person of the year, etc. The memorial service is intended to identify the fallen comrades over the past twelve months that have left us – there were 76 persons from the volunteer fire service in Delaware. The Annual Luncheon is to recognize the outgoing President and the review the highlights, lowlights and accomplishments of the past 12 months. The outgoing Delaware Volunteer Firefighters’ Association President is William F. Tobin, Jr. is currently a member of the Memorial (Slaughter Beach) and Indian River volunteer fire company and has extensive firefighting and EMS service in New Castle and Sussex counties over the years. Some of the guest attending to honor William T. Tobin, Jr., included: Delaware’s United States Congressional Delegation: The Honorable Thomas R. Carper, United States Senator The Honorable Chris Coons, United States Representative The Honorable John Carney, United States Senator The Honorable Michael N. Castle, United States Representative (retired) Delaware Elected Delegation: The Honorable Jack Markel, Governor The Honorable Matt Denn, Lieutenant Governor The Honorable Beau Biden, Attorney General The Honorable Thomas Wagner, Auditor of Accounts The Honorable Karen Weldin-Steward, Insurance Commissioner The Honorable Chip Flowers, Treasurer The Honorable Gary Simpson, Senator The Honorable Ruth Briggs-King, Representative and many other elected officials that did not have the opportunity to speak: The Honorable Peter C. Schwartzkopf, Representative The Honorable Bruce Ennis, Senator The Honorable David McBride, Senator The Honorable Brad Bennett, Representative The Honorable Gerald Hocker, Representative The Honorable Dan Short, Representative and this lists remains incomplete. United States Vice President Joseph Biden telephoned and conducted his speech via audio-conferencing and expressed his appreciation for President Tobin's leadership and friendship over the past years. Bill Tobin was appointed by Governor Jack Markel to service a 1 year term as State Fire Prevention Commissioner effective immediately.

Views: 24
DVFA President William Tobin
Views: 49
Elaine Tobin
Views: 54
Views: 51
CFSI Bill Webb; Governor Jack Markel; Charles Frampton
Views: 50
DVFA William Tobin
Views: 50
Governor Jack Markel
Views: 45
President Tobin & Governor Jack Markel
Views: 48
US Congressman Thomas R. Carper
Views: 45
Views: 49
US Representative John Carney
Views: 46
State Representative Ruth Briggs-King
Views: 47
Rep. Briggs-King & President Tobin
Views: 50
Senator Simpson & President Tobin
Views: 47
Views: 44